Calls That Get Appointments

Considering your focus is an outbound call with the intent to schedule an appointment, the scripting I am suggesting would be used whether the call was answered live or if you leave a voicemail. It would be the same opening statement. The call objective is to schedule an appointment.

The first thing you want to do is create a “headline” opening statement. You want to create something that is catchy and grabs the attention through proposing benefit to the prospect.

Three major components of your effective opening monologue:

1. Pleasantry

Capture their attention with their full name.

Use a pleasantry different from, “How are you, today?”

Don’t use your company name in the opening statement?

2. Benefit focused statement

Who is your “Decision Maker” and why should they choose to do business with you?

Think and speak “Benefits”!

– Specific, Measurable, Time Phased

– Results-oriented

Hit the “bull’s eye” to get the interest of the caller. The ultimate objective is to get the person to listen to you by connecting at the highest level. The key is to get closer to the bulls eye which is referral specific.

– Generalized

– “Companies in your city…”

– “Other groups in your industry…”    

– Referral Specific

– “ABC Insurance has increased sales activity and suggested I contact you…”

– “Mary James was able to improve first time closing ratio by 23% through our unique method…”

3. Transitional Question

Require a minor “yes” decision to help move the dialogue forward.

Deliver further benefits, and then end with a question that asks for an appointment.

Use the take away technique.

Review of the Outline of Your Effective Opening Statement:

Step One: Use their full name

Step Two: Pleasantry. Don’t ask “How are you today” because it telegraphs you are a salesperson. Simply say “Thanks for taking my call”, pause for a brief second and move on. Do not ask if you have caught them at a good time, because there never s a good time. If you have caught them at a bad time, they can tell you.

Step Three: Bridge (links communication to become conversational)         

“Last week…”

“Recently…”

Step Four: Benefit focused Statement

Step Five: Transitional Question

Here is an example of how this may work for either the initial call or the voicemail message:

Voicemail

“Hi, my name is _________from Scottsdale, Arizona. Thanks for taking my call. I trust I have not caught you at a bad time (slight pause) the purpose of my call and I will be brief, I have been talking to a number of sales managers in your area and they seem to be challenged with getting their sales people to do all the necessary activity to meet their sales goals. I am sure that is something that frustrates you as well. We have a unique solution; I am not sure if it would work for you, but if we can invest a few seconds I am sure you could tell if it would work. Recently Joe Smith of ABC Insurance was able to increase sales activity by nearly 30% with our solution within 30 days of implementing it. I can not really tell you right, or show you wrong. Please call me at 800-486-7586 and we can take a quick look. My name again is_____________800-486-7586

 

 

Opening statement on initial call

“Hi, my name is _________from Scottsdale, Arizona. Thanks for taking my call. I trust I have not caught you at a bad time (slight pause) the purpose of my call and I will be brief, I have been talking to a number of sales managers in your area and they seem to be challenged with getting their sales people to do all the necessary activity to meet their sales goals. Is that something that frustrates you as well? We have a unique solution; I am not sure if it would work for you, but if we can invest a few seconds I am sure you could tell if it would work. Recently Joe Smith of ABC Insurance was able to increase sales activity by nearly 30%with our solution within 30 days of implementing it. I can not really tell you right, or show you wrong. How many sales people do you have on your team?

To Your Success,

Ron Marks

rmarks@southwesternconsulting.com

Leave a Reply

